A Letter to that Girl

Chatter Commencing.

Hey girl. I’m sorry I was the oddest person in the world last night. I met you one time like two years ago, when you had a boyfriend, and at the time, I was all, “Dayyyummm girl, you are the perfect woman!” Anyway, I remembered your name from that one encounter, and when I bumped into you last night, I totally freaked you out by knowing who you were.

The thing is, I put you up on a pedestal 3 years ago, despite only talking to you for a couple hours. You were applying to be in the same school of journalism that I was in, and we talked about your love of sports, journalism, and communications. I was enamored by your quick wit and vast knowledge of athletics.

We chatted until bar close, but because you had a boyfriend, I decided to say my goodbye, and leave it as a random, perfect encounter. Similar to Buttercup‘s idea with the Drum-roll.

The problem was, when I saw you again last night, you were still “perfect” because we never went past the aforementioned drum-roll.

And unfortunately, albeit understandably, you didn’t remember me. I was just a dude you met at a bar while dating your long-time boyfriend. I never got your number or talked to you again in 3 years. But when I saw you last night, I experienced a rush of revertigo, remembering the conversation immediately.

Anyway, I just wanted to say that I’m sorry that I sounded like a babbling, bumbling band of baboons. And when I bump into you in three more years, I’ll try not to be such a prat.

Closing Chatter.

Categories: An Eclectic of the Eccentric, Love & Relationships, Thought Catalog-Esque | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

